E-Book Reviews


Hi again 🙂

This page is for all the E-Books IÂŽve read!

This is a new section, because I realized I get a lot of E-Galleys from Publishers, and though I send the reviews to Netgalley, Amazon and Goodreads, I thought, you all should have the opportunity to read them here too! So thats a little mini section for all the e-books I will be reviewing from now on, with just the right word count to dive fast through them! The last review I wrote will always be the first one you can see here 🙂

Have fun!

*I received an ARC or review copy of this book for free from NetGalley or the author in exchange for an honest review.* – all cover pictures are taken from GoodreadsR


Vox

by Christina Dalcher

Vox Christina Dalcher

Rating: â™„♄♄♄

Pages: 346

Publisher: Fischer

Publishing Date:  August 1st 2018

Synopsis: 

“In einer Welt, in der Frauen nur hundert Wörter am Tag sprechen dĂŒrfen, bricht eine das Gesetz. Das provozierende ÜberraschungsdebĂŒt aus den USA, ĂŒber das niemand schweigen wird! Als die neue Regierung anordnet, dass Frauen ab sofort nicht mehr als hundert Worte am Tag sprechen dĂŒrfen, will Jean McClellan diese wahnwitzige Nachricht nicht wahrhaben – das kann nicht passieren. Nicht im 21. Jahrhundert. Nicht in Amerika. Nicht ihr. Das ist der Anfang. Schon bald kann Jean ihren Beruf als Wissenschaftlerin nicht lĂ€nger ausĂŒben. Schon bald wird ihrer Tochter Sonia in der Schule nicht lĂ€nger Lesen und Schreiben beigebracht. Sie und alle MĂ€dchen und Frauen werden ihres Stimmrechts, ihres Lebensmuts, ihrer TrĂ€ume beraubt. Aber das ist nicht das Ende. FĂŒr Sonia und alle entmĂŒndigten Frauen will Jean sich ihre Stimme zurĂŒckerkĂ€mpfen.”

Meine Meinung:

Nachdem ich das Buch so oft und viel auf alle Social Media KanÀlen beobachtet habe, wollte ich endlich wissen worum es geht. Der Hype war real und ich konnte es nicht abwarten in dieses dystopische und dennoch schrecklich real wirkende Geschichte einzutauchen.

Dieser Roman war absolut fantastisch. Er war furchteinflĂ¶ĂŸend, real, spannend und wirklich gut gedacht. Man konnte kaum etwas voraus sagen und die Grundidee war einfach genial. Denn wer sagt uns, das dies in unserer Welt, in der ohnehin Hass und Angst regieren, nicht passieren könnte?

Die Charaktere waren einzigartig und obwohl es in dem Buch um die UnterdrĂŒckung der Frauen im 21. Jhd. geht ist es doch ein höchst feministischer und politischer Roman gewesen, der einem aufzeigt, welche Privilegien wir alle genießen und wie schnell sich dies Ă€ndern kann. Er ruft dazu auf nachzudenken und niemals aufzugeben – auch wenn die Welt in der wir leben nicht die ist, in der wir leben wollen. Auf jeden Fall wurde ich zum Nachdenken angeregt und fand die Geschichte mehr als unterhaltsam!

(20. Dezember 2018)


Cinder & Ella

by Kelly Oram

cinder und Ella

Rating: â™„♄♄♄♄

Pages: 448

Publisher: Bastei LĂŒbbe

Publishing Date:  September 28th 2018

Synopsis: 

“Ella hat ein hartes Jahr hinter sich. Ihre Mutter starb bei einem Autounfall, den sie selbst nur knapp ĂŒberlebte. Nach etlichen Klinikaufenthalten zieht sie nun zu ihrem Vater und dessen neuer Familie. Dabei will Ella nur eins: Alles soll so sein wie frĂŒher. Sie vermisst ihre Mom, ihren heißgeliebten BĂŒcher-Blog – und Cinder, ihren Chatfreund.

Brian Oliver ist der neue Star am Hollywoodhimmel. Doch der Ruhm hat seine Schattenseiten, echte Freunde sind selten geworden. Vor allem vermisst er seine Chatfreundin Ella, mit der er unter seinem Nickname Cinder stundenlang gechattet hat. Als die sich nach einem Jahr Funkstille plötzlich wieder meldet, ist Brian ĂŒberglĂŒcklich. Langsam wird ihm klar, dass er mehr will als nur Freundschaft. Doch Ella hat keine Ahnung, wer er in Wirklichkeit ist …” (Goodreads)

Meine Meinung:

Ich habe zwar bereits viel von dem Buch gehört gehabt als ich es anforderte, hatte aber nicht erwartet, dass es mir doch so gut gefallen wĂŒrde!

Ich muss nicht dazu sagen, dass ich mehrere Tage gebraucht habe, bis ich den Titel wirklich verstanden hatte (als Hinweis das dies ein Cinderella Retelling ist) 😀

Also wie gesagt es geht um eine moderne Neuerzahkung von dem MĂ€rchen Cinderella und es handelt von Ellamara die ein absoluter BĂŒcherwurm ist (weshalb ich sie geliebt habe!) und um Cinder dessen richtigen Namen Ella gar nicht kennt. Die beiden sind sich nie begegnet, haben nie in der RealitĂ€t miteinander geredet und dennoch haben sie diese außergewöhnliche Verbindung.

Die Charaktere in diesem Buch waren meisterlich ausgearbeitet und oft einfach nur sympathisch!

Die Charaktere waren manchmal frech, manchmal liebenswĂŒrdig aber immer authentisch. Sie waren strark und mutig, zickig und verstĂ€ndnisvoll. Vor allem waren sie aber eins: toll geschrieben und absolut identifizierbar. Sie waren echt und real und alles was man sonst noch braucht!

Das Buch handelt von Freundschaft, Akzeptanz, Mobbing und Liebe. Es handelt von dem Leben mit einer Behinderung und davon, wie auch Ruhm ein Leben beeintrĂ€chtigen kann. Was Familie bedeutet und wie schwer es ist loszulassen. Von Trauer und Familienbanden, von Erinnerungen und dem Wunder sich fĂŒrs Leben zu entscheiden. Es hat so viele interessante Aspekte und Probleme des alltĂ€glichen Lebens abgedeckt, dass ich es jedem nur wĂ€rmstens empfehlen kann! Es ist ein echtes Herzensbuch und super sĂŒĂŸ und nachvollziehbar geschrieben!

Von mir gibt es einen riesigen Daumen Hoch und die Bitte an alle, es zu lesen, weil es eine besondere Geschichte ist. Auf der einen Seite erinnert es zwar an Geekerella und Co ist aber durch Ellas Geschichte zu einer eigenstĂ€ndigen Handlung geworden!

(04. December 2018)


All In – Tausend Augenblicke

by Emma Scott

Rating: â™„♄♄♄♄

Pages: 432

Publisher: LYX

Publishing Date:  October 26th 2018

Synopsis: 

Vielleicht haben wir nicht fĂŒr immer, aber wir haben Augenblicke, Tausende ĂŒber Tausende von Augenblicken. Lass uns jeden davon bis zum Letzten auskosten.”

Kaceys Leben als Rockstar ist ein Tanz auf dem Vulkan, den sie nicht ĂŒberlebt hĂ€tte, wĂ€re Jonah Fletcher nicht in ihr Leben getreten. Ihn zu lieben ist ein Sprung ins Ungewisse, der grĂ¶ĂŸtes GlĂŒck oder grĂ¶ĂŸten Schmerz bringen kann. Doch ganz gleich, was kommt, Kacey weiß, dass sie nicht mehr zurĂŒck kann – und dass Jonah es wert ist, alles zu riskieren …

Mini – Review:

Bevor ich anfange das Buch anzupreisen (und ja das werde ich!), möchte ich kurz darauf hinweisen, das ich es zuvor auf meinen Social Media KanÀlen verfolgt habe und mich gefragt habe warum alle nur von ihren HeulkrÀmpfen berichten und nicht dem Inhalt des Buchs.

Nach Beenden des Buches möchte ich mich nun in die Heul-Armee einreihen.

Erst dachte ich: Nun das wird ein weiteres Buch mit einer wilden, rockigen Protagonistin sein, die ihren neu gewonnen Nice-Guy mit in den Abgrund zieht. Dass es nur um ihre Vergangenheit geht und darum ihre Probleme zu lösen. Wie sehr ich mich getĂ€uscht habe! Dieses Buch handelt von unnachahmbaren Familienbanden, der Macht von Freundschaft und der Magie von letzten WĂŒnschen. Es handelt von SĂŒchten, von Krankheiten von der Liebe zum Leben und dem Fehlen davon. Diese Buch ist eine absolut perfekte Komposition.

Ich wollte die Charaktere nicht mögen, ich wollte das Buch nicht mögen und dennoch hat es die Autorin nur einige Augenblicke anstatt tausende gekostet mich in den Bann ihrer Geschichte zu ziehen. Die Charaktere waren einzigartig und besonders, so sanft, so stark, so wunderbar, dass ich nicht nur einmal in TrĂ€nen ausgebrochen bin. Ich weiß, dass diese Geschichte mich noch einige Zeit meines Lebens begleiten wird und bin dankbar fĂŒr all die kleinen Augenblicke die ich nun besser zu schĂ€tzen wissen werde.

Wie ihr euch vorstellen könnt kann ich den nĂ€chsten Band kaum abwarten, auch wenn ich eine Vermutung habe welche Achterbahnfahrt auf mich zukommen wird. Ich lasse mir mein Herz gerne ein weiteres Mal ausreißen wenn es so wundervoll geschrieben passiert.

Das ist mehr als eine Leseempfehlung – Es ist eine Must-Read-Empfehlung!

(25. November 2018)


Red Rising – Asche zu Asche

by Pierce Brown

Rating: â™„♄♄♄♄

Pages: 650

Publisher: Cross Cult

Publishing Date:  November 5th 2018

Synopsis: 

Vor einem Jahrzehnt war Darrow der Held einer Revolution, von der er glaubte, sie wĂŒrde die Gesellschaft verĂ€ndern. Statt Frieden und Freiheit hat sie nur endlosen Krieg gebracht. Jetzt muss er alles, wofĂŒr er gekĂ€mpft hat, in einer einzigen letzten Mission riskieren. Darrow glaubt nach wie vor, er könne jeden retten. Aber kann er sich auch selbst retten?

Red Rising war die Geschichte vom Ende eines Universums. Asche zu Asche ist die Geschichte von der Erschaffung eines neuen. Der Beginn einer aufregenden neuen Saga von New-York-Times-Bestsellerautor Pierce Brown.

Mini – Review:

Als ich damals die “Red Rising”-Reihe beendet habe war ich vollkommen erfĂŒllt von Liebe und Überraschung zu dieser Buchreihe. Ich habe den ersten band von der ersten Seite an vergöttert und war mehr als nur ein bisschen erleichtert, dass all meine persönlichen Lieblinge den Kampf ĂŒberlebt haben und sicher und glĂŒcklich weiterleben durften.

Und dann kam Pierce Brown plötzlich mit einem vierten Band um die Ecke und hat all meine TrĂ€ume und Hoffnungen auf ein Happy End zerstört. Nun muss ich auf zwei weitere BĂ€nde, nach diesem Meisterwerk, warten, um zu erfahren, ob all meine Lieblinge eine weitere Runde auf Browns Gedankenkarussel ĂŒberleben werden.

Es war, wie jedes Buch dieser Reihe, blutig und spannend bis zum Schluss und auch die neueren Charaktere habe ich sofort ins Herz geschlossen. Mir hat besonders gefallen, dass man erfÀhrt wie sich die Gesellschaft und die Charaktere der VorbÀnde mit den neuen Begebenheiten und Gesetzen abfinden und wie die Zukunft von ihnen aussieht oder aussehen könnte. es ist spannend zu sehen, wie ein Autor es nicht bei einem Happy End belÀsst, weil es im richtigen Leben auch nur selten eines gibt, und sich stattdessen auf die Intrigen und Probleme nach einem Machtwechsel konzentriert.

Browns Art und Weise eine Welt fĂŒr den Leser zu erschaffen ist einzigartig und ich bin nur so durch die Seiten geflogen. Alte bekannte wie Darrow und Sevro tauchen wieder auf, doch auch neue Gesichter haben mir das Lesen versĂŒĂŸt oder auch das Herz gebrochen.

Ein gelungener und spannender vierter Band einer atemberaubenden Buchreihe. Gerne mehr davon!

( November 4th 2018)


The Darkest Star

by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Rating: â™„♄♄♄♄

Pages: 368

Publisher: Tor Teen

Publishing Date:  October 30th 2018

Synopsis: 

When seventeen-year-old Evie Dasher is caught up in a raid at a notorious club known as one of the few places where humans and the surviving Luxen can mingle freely, she meets Luc, an unnaturally beautiful guy she initially assumes is a Luxen…but he is in fact something much more powerful. Her growing attraction for Luc will lead her deeper and deeper into a world she’d only heard about, a world where everything she thought she knew will be turned on its head…

Mini – Review:

After I fell in love with the Lux Series years ago, I couldn’t believe my luck when I heard, that I get to see my babies again and come back into the Luxen Universe.
And as always with a Jennifer L. Armentrout book – I was not disappointed 😊

Luc was just a witty and perfect as in the past books. And though I guessed most of what will be happening right – was the story still super exciting and fast pacing! Just as we love it 🙂
The new characters were lovable!
To unravel all the secrets around Evie Dasher (do I hear bells ringing in your ears?) and the other characters that have grown up now to badass people was just fun and I can’t wait for the second book in this series!

If you loved the Luxen series you won’t be able to live without that one!
We’ve got all the cheese, all the hotness and all the power we missed for years now and we also get some new stuff you won’t even believe!
So see for yourself and read this cheesy and fast pacing masterpiece 🧐

( October 22nd 2018)


The Caged Queen

by Kristen Ciccarelli

the caged queen

Rating: â™„♄♄♄♄

Pages: 400

Publisher: Gollanz/ Orion

Publishing Date:  September 25th 2018

Synopsis: 

Once there were two sisters born with a bond so strong that it forged them together forever. When they were angry, mirrors shattered, and when they were happy, flowers bloomed. It was a magic they cherished – until the day a terrible accident took Essie’s life and trapped her soul in this world.

Dax – the heir to Firgaard’s throne – was responsible for the accident. Roa swore to hate him forever. But eight years later he returned, begging for her help. He was determined to dethrone his cruel father, under whose oppressive reign Roa’s people had suffered. Roa made him a deal: she’d give him the army he needed if he made her queen.

Together with Dax and his sister, Asha, Roa and her people waged war and deposed a tyrant. But now Asha is on the run, hiding from the price on her head. And Roa is an outlander queen, far from home and married to her enemy. Worst of all: Dax’s promises go unfulfilled. Roa’s people continue to suffer.
Then a chance to right every wrong arises – an opportunity for Roa to rid herself of this enemy king and rescue her beloved sister. During the Relinquishing, when the spirits of the dead are said to return, Roa can reclaim her sister for good.

All she has to do is kill the king.

Mini – Review:

First of all: The cover of this book is as stunningly beautiful as the inside! I loved and devoured every single page of this. First: because I already adored Roa in the first book of that installment, and couldn’t wait to get more of her and her white hawk. Second: Because I knew I would get to see all of my little babies again, including Kozu. So I can tell without any lie – that this sequel was just perfect for me! This book is about love and loss, secrets and intrigues, dragons and hawks and it enchanted me. 

This book starts right where “The last Namsara” ends, but from the perspective of Roa, the scrubland queen that blackmailed Dax into marrying her, to rescue her country. And let me tell you that Roa is one of the most capable, badass anti-heroines I’ve ever met and is absolutely loved her. With Roa there is no black and white, only the dusty color of the desert and the deep silver love for her sister Essie. I love how the story is not only about the love between lovers, but family bonds, believe in a bond no one can see and the power of letting go. This book was about death as much as of finding a reason to really live again and it made me cry once more.

We will get to know Dax much better. All the reasons of his behavior and book one and then some. We get to love and hate Roa for the same reasons and we will skip every page in awaiting Asha to com back. But I will tell nothing about that one. Just that you won’t miss out on the dragon part and that I can’t wait for the final book because I just know it will be epic.

The book had a more than strong and diverse cast, badass feminine main characters, and man with as much Brin as guts and I barely find myself enjoying a fantasy book as much as this one, because of my love for fairytales and legends woven into the intricate pattern of an epic story. If you loved “the Last Namsara”, you won’t be able to put down this one. I’ve never had so much fun hating a main character as I did here! (And let me tell you – the love story never comes short on here!)

( September 26th 2018)


Trust Again

by Mona Kasten

Rating: â™„♄♄♄

Pages: 400

Publisher: LYX

Publishing Date: 10 Juli 2018

Synopsis: 

Happy End? Das gibt es doch nur im Film! Da ist sich Dawn Edwards ganz sicher. Seit sie ihren Exfreund in flagranti mit einer anderen erwischt hat, hat sie MÀnnern abgeschworen und sich stattdessen ganz aufs College und das Verwirklichen ihrer TrÀume konzentriert.

Vor allem fĂŒr einen Weiberhelden wie Spencer Cosgrove ist in ihrem Leben kein Platz. Da können seine AnnĂ€herungsversuche noch so kreativ sein. Doch eines Tages entdeckt Dawn durch Zufall eine völlig neue Seite an Spencer und stellt fest, dass hinter seiner humorvollen Fassade ein dunkles Geheimnis steckt und er viel mehr als der Aufreißer ist, der er vorgibt zu sein …

Mini – Review:

Dieses Buch hat mir sogar noch weitaus besser gefallen als begin again. NatĂŒrlich habe ich Kaden im ersten Band vergöttert, aber ehrlich gesagt sind Dawn und Spencer fĂŒr mich Charaktere gewesen, die ich verstehen und nachvollziehen konnte, und die ich somit zu lieben gelernt habe. Wenn man den ersten Band der Reihe gelesen hat, kann man sich bereits ungefĂ€hr vorstellen, was einem in diesem Buch erwartet. Zwei komplexe Charaktere, die wir schon in der ersten Geschichte kennengelernt haben, die ihre Geheimnisse gekonnt verbergen und sich ineinander verlieben. Erstmal nicht weiter ĂŒberraschend. Doch dann kamen Spencer und Dawn und haben gemeinsam mein Herz erobert.

Dawn ist fĂŒr mich ein super komplexer und liebenswerte Charakter und hat mir deutlich besser gefallen als Ally, die doch sehr nah am Wasser gebaut war. Dawn war mehr wie ich selbst und wurde damit schnell zu meinem Lieblingscharakter. Sie ist stark, vorlaut und kĂŒmmert sich gut um ihre Freunde. Sie ist ein kreativer Mensch der das Schreiben liebt und den MĂ€nnern abgeschworen hat. Kurz gesagt die Protagonistin war toll geschrieben und man hat gemerkt, dass die Autorin sich vermutlich in Dawn widernden konnte, weshalb sie sehr viel realer schien 🙂

Und dann war da noch der spaßige Spencer, der ein dunkles Geheimnis zu verbergen hatte. Er hat mir besonders gut gefallen, weil es gezeigt hat, das Personen oft sehr viel tiefgrĂŒndiger und facettenreicher sind, als der erste Eindruck vermitteln mag. Im ersten band hat man wirklich noch geglaubt er wĂ€re einfach ein lustiger Spaßvogel, wĂ€hrend man nun endlich erfahren hat, was hinter dem großen, dunkelhaarigen KĂŒnstler mit den blauen Augen steckt. Hach wer steht bitte nicht auf einen geheimnisvollen KĂŒnstler?

Mir hat die Aufteilung und die Schreibweise des Buches wirklich sehr gut gefallen und es waren tatsĂ€chlich einige Überraschungen dabei die mich perplex haben Luft schnappen lassen! Ich fand es besonders gut wie ie Autorin beschrieben hat, wie Dawn sich fĂŒhlt, weil sie von ihrem Ex betrogen und verlassen wurde, wie das Schreiben ihr dabei geholfen hat das zu verarbeiten und wie schwierig es sein kann nach so einer Begebenheit die Mauern wieder einzureißen. Auch Spencers Geheimnis ist ein ganz Besonderes und zu keiner Zeit habe ich geahnt, welche Bombe am Ende platzen wĂŒrde.

Das Buch war rundum eine positive Überraschung und ich habe sofort das Hörspiel zum dritten Band der Reihe gestartet. Denn Ally und ihre Clique haben sĂŒchtig gemacht!

(26. September 2018)


Legendary

by Stephanie Garber

legendary

Rating: â™„♄♄♄♄+

Pages: 400

Publisher: Piper

Publishing Date: September 4th 2018

Synopsis:

Donatella Dragna hatte kaum Zeit, sich an ihr neues Leben bei den Caraval-Schauspielern zu gewöhnen, als sie erfĂ€hrt, dass Caraval-Master Legend die AuffĂŒhrung eines neuen Spiels plant. Inmitten der Vorbereitungen spielt Donatella jedoch ein anderes, ebenso tödliches Spiel: Sie hat Schulden und es ist an der Zeit, diese zu begleichen. Wenn Donatella die Freiheit behalten will, die sie und ihre Schwester Scarlett sich so hart erkĂ€mpft haben, muss sie den Master von Caraval hintergehen.

Donatella weiß, dass Legend gefĂ€hrlich ist, doch sie lĂ€sst sich auf sein Spiel ein. Und obwohl sie sich geschworen hat, dass sie sich nie verlieben wird, ist ihr Herz plötzlich genauso in Gefahr wie ihr Leben … (Goodreads)

//

A heart to protect. A debt to repay. A game to win.

After being swept up in the magical world of Caraval, Donatella Dragna has finally escaped her father and saved her sister, Scarlett, from a disastrous arranged marriage. The girls should be celebrating, but Tella isn’t yet free. She made a desperate bargain with a mysterious criminal, and what Tella owes him no one has ever been able to deliver: Caraval Master Legend’s true name.

The only chance of uncovering Legend’s identity is to win Caraval, so Tella throws herself into the legendary competition once more—and into the path of the murderous heir to the throne, a doomed love story, and a web of secrets
including her sister’s. Caraval has always demanded bravery, cunning, and sacrifice, but now the game is asking for more. If Tella can’t fulfill her bargain and deliver Legend’s name, she’ll lose everything she cares about—maybe even her life. But if she wins, Legend and Caraval will be destroyed forever…

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . the games have only just begun.

Mini – Review:

Dieses Buch ist eines meiner absoluten Jahreshighlights geworden, nachdem ich auch nur die ersten paar Seiten gelesen hatte.
Die ausfĂŒhrliche, schmuckreiche und wundervolle Sprache hat eine Welt in meinen Gedanken geschaffen, die ich nie wieder verlassen wollte. Die detailreichen Beschreibungen und das ganze Setting war so einzigartig und wunderbar – wie man es selten zu lesen bekommt. Und allein schon deswegen hatte es absolutes Potential fĂŒr das nĂ€chste Lieblingsbuch.
Und dann kamen noch diese einzigartigen, authentischen geheimnisvollen Charaktere hinzu, die man einfach lieben musste.

Mein persönlicher Liebling ist natĂŒrlich Dante, denn wer wĂŒrde bei einem tĂ€towierten Bad Boy mit einem Herzen aus Gold nicht schwach werden? Und mein zweiter Liebling war selbstverstĂ€ndlich Donatella, in deren Sichtweise man das Buch und die Geschichte erlebt. Sie ist so mutig, unabhĂ€ngig, gefĂŒllt mit Liebe und Abenteuerlust, dass ich ihr sofort verfallen bin.

Jede Sekunde in diesem Buch war ein magisches Erlebnis und ich möchte nicht zu viel ĂŒber den Inhalt verraten: Aber Legend erwartet euch und nichts ist wie es zuerst scheint. Macht euch auf magische Wesen, böse und gute Überraschungen gefasst und eine Menge Geheimnisse.
Ich kann es nicht abwarten sie alle im finalen Teil aufzudecken und zu erfahren was mit meinen Lieblingen passieren wird und wer Legend wirklich ist! 

Irgendwie dachte ich diese Rezension wĂŒrde so viel ausfĂŒhrlicher ausfallen, wenn ich bedenke wie sehr ich dieses Buch geliebt habe und was fĂŒr einen großen Platz in meinem Herzen es eingenommen hat, doch ich denke ich bin immer noch sprachlos und kann nicht in Worte fassen, wie unglaublich und einzigartig dieses Buch war!

(September 19th 2018)


My Image of you – Weil ich dich liebe

by Melanie Moreland

Rating: â™„♄♄♄♄+

Pages: 320

Publisher: LYX

Publishing Date: August 2nd 2018

Synopsis:

Auch die grĂ¶ĂŸte Liebe garantiert kein FĂŒr Immer
Als der Fotograf Adam Kincaid nach einem Unfall im Krankenhaus erwacht und sein Blick auf die zustÀndige Krankenschwester fÀllt, wÀhnt er sich im Himmel. Mit ihren roten Locken und den blitzeblauen Augen verdreht Alexandra Robbins Adam sofort den Kopf.

Auch fĂŒr sie ist es Liebe auf den ersten Blick. Doch irgendetwas hĂ€lt Alex davon ab, sich Adam hinzugeben und ihm voll und ganz zu vertrauen. Und als Adam ihr Geheimnis enthĂŒllt und ihr hilft, mit ihrer Vergangenheit abzuschließen, sind sie so glĂŒcklich, wie zwei Menschen, die sich lieben, nur sein können. Doch dann schlĂ€gt das Schicksal unbarmherzig zu … (Goodreads)

//

A globe-trotting bad boy chases the one that got away in this addictive novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Contract.

My name is Adam Kincaid, and I’m the best at what I do. After losing my parents, I decided to follow in their footsteps, and now I’m the most daring freelance photographer in the world.
Maybe some think I’m a loner, but I don’t care. All that matters is the shot: braving danger and devastation in search of a single image with the power to tell someone’s story. But as good as I am, accidents happen—and thank god for that, because it’s what leads me to her . . .
Alexandra Robbins. My nurse. My savior.

With her fiery red hair and crystal-clear blue eyes, the camera loves her . . . and I have to have her. We soon find that we’re perfect together. We just fit, physically and emotionally. And yet something isn’t right. Something from her past is haunting her, and no matter what I do to help her break free, I lose her.
Today is the day I try to win her back. Not only do I need an explanation, I need her in my bed once again. I don’t just want a damn picture—I want her. Because what we have is a love that never fades away. . .

Mini – Review:

Mir fallen zu diesem Buch so viele unglaublich komplexe Worte ein um es zu beschreiben – doch das, was es vermutlich am Besten trifft ist – Authentisch!

Ich weiß gar nicht wo ich anfangen soll zu rezensieren, so sprachlos und ergriffen hat mich das Buch zurĂŒckgelassen. Am Besten ist es wohl ich beginne mit dem Cover, denn das ist schließlich das Erste was man sieht, bevor man in der Geschichte versinkt. Es kommt selten vor, dass ich Cover mit sich lieben Personen darauf wirklich schön finde. denn meistens entsprechen sie weder dem beschriebenen Aussehen der Charaktere im Buch, noch passen sie zum Inhalt. Bei diesem Cover ist das anders. Durch die grauen Risse deutet es schon auf einiges inhaltliches hin, das ich an dieser Stelle nicht ĂŒberinterpretieren möchte und die Personen sehen genauso aus, wie ich sie mir beim Lesen vorgestellt habe. Daumen hoch!

Nun zum Inhalt. Eine Liebesgeschichte aus der Perspektive des Mannes geschrieben – stellt man sich ja meistens eher vor wie die schlechte Variante von Shade of Grey – in Christians Sicht. Doch hier war ich positiv ĂŒberrascht, wie authentisch die Autorin Adams mĂ€nnliches Wesen dargestellt hat, seine GefĂŒhle und Gedanken, ohne es in irgendeine Richtung zu ĂŒbertreiben. Die Charaktere in dem Buch waren generell meisterlich geschrieben und ich habe sie gehasst und geliebt – so wie die Autorin es beabsichtigt hat.

Selten wecken Charaktere so tiefe GefĂŒhle in mir wie Ally und Adam. Außerdem fand ich es ĂŒberraschend und super angenehm nicht wieder den obligatorischen Studenten – Bad Boy und das unschuldige MauerblĂŒmchen vor mir zu haben – sondern komplexe Charaktere mit außergewöhnlichen Jobs. Ein TĂ€towierter Katastrophenfotograf und eine Krankenschwester, und das alles noch mit Allys’ Hintergrundgeschichte? Absolut fantastisch und einfallsreich. Ich habe diese Charaktere von der ersten Seite an geliebt. Sie waren witzig, authentisch und kein bisschen ĂŒberzogen – wie es in so vielen anderen Liebesromanen der Fall ist.

Der Schreibstil war angenehm, ausgefeilt und spannend zu lesen und ich habe es genossen Situationen mal aus der Sicht eines Mannes zu betrachten. Die ZeitsprĂŒnge und am Ende auch Perspektivenwechsel haben dem Ganzen noch zusĂ€tzliche WĂŒrze gegeben. Ich werde jetzt direkt Melanie Morelands anderen Roman bestellen und hoffen, das “my Image of you” irgendwann verfilmt wird, denn ich konnte mich kaum von dieser tragischen und herzzerreißenden Liebesgeschichte und ihren wunderbaren Charakteren trennen. Ein Jahreshighlight!

(September 6th 2018)


The Golden Fountain

by Zuheb Alep

Rating: â™„

Pages: 320

Publisher: Troubador Publishing Ltd

Publishing Date: February 28th 2018

Synopsis:

The Golden Fountain is the story of a twelve-year old Benjamin, a rebellious boy whose fierce desire to become a leader is threatened by the children disappearing around his city. The citizens of the city has long suffered their children’s disappearance, but the fact that they were never discovered leads Benjamin to finally decide one thing; he would creep on-board a ship carrying eight thousands soldiers to rescue them around the world.

This story is set parallel in a world to our own, with magical creatures such as talking snow-cats bred for war, winged humans with elemental powers, birds as large as a horse and ferocious witches.
This world is more than magical, with the balance of light and darkness about to break. Only Benjamin can prevent that with his unbreakable sword and a unique compass. Fall into a story completed with many themes, mostly about love and worst of all 
 death. (Goodreads)

Mini – Review:

Okay, so I hate to admit it, but this was the first book I DNFed for ages, and I did not do it lightly. But this whole book had too many loose ends and no red line to follow through.

Let us begin with the world building: There was no real world building. Like for real. The author just created a parallel universe to ours with slightly different names. And the lush writing made me feel like I am in a midcentury Arabian country, but there were all these European names like Nadine and April, and they had studded knives and all, but also TVs and Vans and it was just a big confusing mess with no story line to follow through.

The author threw in several names of places and organizations, like the reader should already know all of them, and there were ghosts, and kidnapped children and princes, but also Queen Elizabeth? It was just a mess. I don’t say that to insult the author, but world building is more than just introducing new stuff without any proper explanation. I mean it could also have been set in our world for what we know, so why play an entire new universe?

And the characters were difficult for me too. I mean yes it is middle grade children book, but why has everyone on the streets to be friends with each other and why is everything happening so fast and without any sense? Children are kidnapped on the streets and then other CHILDREN search for these children ON THE STREETS and get also kidnapped without any sign.

What a surprise. That was just weird and not surprising. And all this sweetness like ” we all love strawberries and blueberry ice”… well I wasn’t like that when I was thirteen, that’s for sure. Also there were so many names and characters introduced and I was always confused who is who, and do we we love them, and why is everybody best friends now with someone I never heard of before?

Okay I’ll stop the rant now. Maybe the book is making more sense in the end, but I couldn’t get into the story at all (though I often read middle grade books and always love them!) . Maybe the book should have been better curated, because the idea had absolute potential and was what lured me in in the first place. The lush writing was absolutely wonderful and I’d like to read a book in the future by this author, when the story building has improved some more!

(September 4th 2018)


The 7œ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

by Stuart Turton

the seven deaths

Rating: â™„♄♄

Pages: 518

Publisher: Raven Books

Publishing Date: February 8th 2018

Synopsis:

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem. (Goodreads)

Mini – Review:

This book was quiet handful to read. I did not expect anything in peculiar and the idea was absolutely compelling, but in the end I struggled a lot with the book. Not because it was not good, but because it was a long breather. A little too slow pacing for my taste. The Cover is beyond beautiful and was what made me reading this book in the beginning 🙂 I can’t say no to an amazing cover design.

The story circles about several “hosts” that have to save the life of the young Evelyn Hardcastle and all the little secrets and crimes they have to discover. In the end no one and nothing was as it seemed and the second half of the book was a lot more exciting and fast pacing than the first one.

I adored the character of Aiden Bishop and was amazed by all the details and murder strings the author followed by. It was a lush described book with more secrets than words in it and it was absolutely amazing to detect all of that through a more than subjective speaker. The characters were well built and authentically and I hated most of them with all my heart 😀 But in the end it was not enough to love- love the book. I could not identify myself with any of the characters and some revelations were just a bit too far stretched in my opinion.

The book could have been a lot shorter, because that would have made it much more exciting and therefore more authentic in my point of view. The labyrinth of secrets was so beautifully written and most of the changes I would never have expected, so that was a plus for a thriller lover like me, but some parts of the story were repeated quiet too often and weren’t really important in the end. I guess that’s criticism on high nouveau, so I just want you all to prepare for a slowly revealing secret around more than one death.

So enjoy the journey and trust no one, not even your own feelings! 

(September 1st 2018)


Rewired

by S. R. Johannes 

Rating: â™„♄♄♄

Pages: 281

Publisher: Coleman&Scott

Publishing Date: August 27th 2017

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Ada Lovelace is never more alive and sure of herself than when she’s hacking into a “secure” network as her alter ego, the Dark Angel. In the real world, Ada is broken, reeling from her best friend Simone’s recent suicide.

But online, the reclusive daughter of Senator Lovelace (champion of the new Online Privacy Bill) is a daring white hat hacker and the only female member of the Orwellians, an elite group responsible for a string of high-profile hacks against major corporations, with a mission to protect the little guy.

Ada is swiftly proving she’s a force to be reckoned with, when a fellow Orwellian betrays her to the FBI. To protect her father’s career, Ada is sent to ReBoot, a technology rehab facility for teens…the same rehab Simone attended right before killing herself.

It’s bad enough that the ReBoot facility is creepy in an Overlook-Hotel-meets-Winchester-Mansion way, but when Ada realizes Simone’s suicide is just one in an increasingly suspicious string of “accidental” deaths and “suicides” occurring just after kids leave ReBoot, Ada knows she can’t leave without figuring out what really happened to her best friend. The massive cyber conspiracy she uncovers will threaten everything she cares about–her dad’s career, her new relationship with a wry, handsome, reformed hacker who gets under her skin, and most of all–the version of herself Ada likes best–the Dark Angel.

Mini – Review:

It took me a long time to get my heart to read this book, cause I`ve never read a tech-thriller before and I was frightened as hell to dislike it. And to be honest the beginning was hard and the first half of the book was slow burning and cooking, to erupt in flames and explosions in the second half and left me with a racing hard, biting lips and hoping for a happy end. The story was so new and also relevant for our daily life it was a lot more than surprising. The topic of teenage private rights and hackers against the big companies sounds just like the late night news am I right? We are not so far away from this fictional work.

The idea of a teenage girl corrupting her own dad with her hacking and getting into a rehab facility like a junkie was something Ive never read about before and I was a total sucker for it. I loved all the girlpower vibes in this books and especially Becca was my favorite person of the world in it. Kick – Ass barbie with some serious aggression problems? Sign me in! But Ada herself was also such a great and authentic character and her witty responses to my darling Fisher often took me by surprise. The characters were complex and relatable and I would have loved to read a to more about their “gang”, cause in the end I adored them that much.

First I thought I would dislike the mixture of teenage book, thriller and hacker reality, but in the end I was so stoked I could feel blood and ash on my lips and did not want the book to end, because I had all of theses characters in my heart now. I am not often surprised in the second half of a book, and If I could chose I would only take the second half of it with me on a lonely island to be surprised and pumped in with adrenaline, over and over again. Reading this felt like watching a great action – movie. So pick it up and see for yourself 🙂

(August 26th 2018)


The Queens of Innis Lear

by Tessa Gratton

Rating: â™„♄♄

Pages: 567

Publisher: Tor

Publishing Date: March 27th 2018

Synopsis:

The erratic decisions of a prophecy-obsessed king have drained Innis Lear of its wild magic, leaving behind a trail of barren crops and despondent subjects. Enemy nations circle the once-bountiful isle, sensing its growing vulnerability, hungry to control the ideal port for all trade routes.

The king’s three daughters—battle-hungry Gaela, master manipulator Reagan, and restrained, starblessed Elia—know the realm’s only chance of resurrection is to crown a new sovereign, proving a strong hand can resurrect magic and defend itself. But their father will not choose an heir until the longest night of the year, when prophecies align and a poison ritual can be enacted.

Refusing to leave their future in the hands of blind faith, the daughters of Innis Lear prepare for war—but regardless of who wins the crown, the shores of Innis will weep the blood of a house divided.

Mini – Review:

I have to say I expected a completely different plot after reading the synopsis, but I was really surprised by how complex and word ridden this book was. The prose was phenomenal, but made the story a bit too slow pacing for my taste. We have about 5 different “speakers” in this book and a million time jumps within, which made it sometimes difficult to read. In my opinion maybe it would have been a better fit with less jumping and more insight in a few characters feelings and life. I first thought it would remind me of Kandare Blakes “Three dark crowns”, but it did not in any way.

I liked how completely different and explizit the characters were written, how difficult it was to dig deeper into the feelings of the characters, so you would never know what happens next and how colorful everything was described. Some were dark, some were delightful and others just naiv. my favorite Character must have been Ban, though I think he will follow a dark and bloody path in the next book.

I loved how feminist and strong the three queens were and especially Gaela was a bomb. In this book the women are the kings and all the man can only hope for a place in their life. That was sooo great. Badass, fighting queens are my favorite. Also we need more books that talk about womanhood problems like the burning period or being unable to bear a child. To deal with this topics in this book was an absolutely amazing solution of it!

The world building in this book was so on point with all the detailed descriptions and the importancethe nature and the star constellations, it made my heart bloom. This book felt as old as a fairytale but was also absolutely innovative, with the kingdom made by stars.

In the end I found the book a bit to slow and not deep enough, but I couldn’t put it down either, so its a solid good book and against all odds I can’t even wait for the second book!

(23. August 2018)


One small thing 

by Erin Watt

one small thing

Rating: â™„♄♄♄♄

Pages: 368

Publisher: Piper

Publishing Date: August 1st 2018

Synopsis:

Seit dem tragischen Tod ihrer Schwester ist im Leben von Beth nichts mehr so, wie es war. Sie vermisst ihre engste Vertraute schmerzlich, und ihre Eltern sind seither so Àngstlich, dass sie Beth auf Schritt und Tritt bewachen.

Doch eines Nachts schleicht sie sich heimlich zu einer Party. Dort trifft sie Chase, einen attraktiven und charmanten jungen Mann, der gerade erst in die Stadt gezogen ist. Sofort knistert es zwischen den beiden, und Beth schwebt im siebten Himmel. Bis sie erfĂ€hrt, dass Chase ein dĂŒsteres Geheimnis hĂŒtet, das mit dem Tod ihrer Schwester eng verwoben ist … 

Beth’s life hasn’t been the same since her sister died. Her parents try to lock her down, believing they can keep her safe by monitoring her every move. When Beth sneaks out to a party one night and meets the new guy in town, Chase, she’s thrilled to make a secret friend. It seems a small thing, just for her. Only Beth doesn’t know how big her secret really is


Fresh out of juvie and determined to start his life over, Chase has demons to face and much to atone for, including his part in the night Beth’s sister died. Beth, who has more reason than anyone to despise him, is willing to give him a second chance. A forbidden romance is the last thing either of them planned for senior year, but the more time they spend together, the deeper their feelings get. Now Beth has a choice to make—follow the rules, or risk tearing everything apart
again.

Mini – Review: 

Dieses Buch hÀtte mich fast umgebracht.

Ich meine es ernst. Ich habe fast geweint – oft. Und es angeschrien – auch oft. Diese Liebesgeschichte hat mich so sehr an Romeo und Julia erinnert und war so wunderschön geschrieben, dass ich zwischenzeitlich Angst haben musste, sie hĂ€tte kein Happy End. Das rebellische Teenager MĂ€dchen und der Bad Boy, der nicht wirklich schlecht ist, außer fĂŒr sich selbst – haben mein Herz berĂŒhrt und mich immer wieder daran glauben lassen, dass Liebe nicht perfekt ist, aber wachsen kann, wenn man daran arbeitet.

Ich habe selten ein Buch gesehen, in dem die Charaktere sich so gut entwickeln, und das nicht nur zum Guten in Jeffs Fall. Ich fand es fantastisch wie die Autorin den Mut hatte ihre Charaktere eine Menge Fehler machen zu lassen, schlecht und gut zu sein und daraus zu lernen. Das sieht man in dieser ausgereiften Form wirklich nicht oft. Außerdem hat es mir gut gefallen wie Probleme wie Alkohol am Steuer, TrauerbewĂ€ltigung, PubertĂ€t,  Vergewaltigung und Manipulation so subtil angesprochen wurden, sodass man selbst manchmal ĂŒberrascht war, sich getĂ€uscht zu haben.

Ich möchte grade bei diesem Buch nicht zu viel verraten, damit alle Überraschungen in der Geschichte auch wirklich welche bleiben, kann aber sagen dass ich absolut ĂŒberzeugt und begeistert von dem Buch bin – und seien wir mal ehrlich: Bei dem Cover will man einfach zugreifen 😉

/

THIS BOOK JUST KILLED ME!

For real! I nearly cried – a lot. And screamed and it – also a lot. This lovestory had some Romeo and Juliet vibes and was so wonderfully written that I feared it would have no happy ending – and that nearly killed me. The rebelling teenage girl and the bad boy, who isn’t bad at all, only for himself – touched my heart and made me believe again, that love is indeed never perfect but can grow with a lot of work.

I barely ever read a contemporary book, where the characters develop as good as in this book, bad in Jeffs case. It was fantastic and brave of the author to let her characters make that many mistakes, be good or bad, and to learn from it. I don’t read such a thing in this elaborate way often. Additionally to that I loved how subtile topics like rape, drinking and driving, grief, puberty and manipulation are discussed in this story, so you even question your own imagination and mind.

Especially with this story I don’t want to tell you too much, because I want you to experience all the ups and downs and surprises for yourself, but I can say I am absolutely amazed and convinced of this book – and for real: you have to grab it and if its only for its beautiful cover! 😉

(22. August 2018)


Twisted Love 

by L. J. Shen

twisted love

Rating: â™„♄♄♄♄

Pages: 481

Publisher: Lyx

Publishing Date: July 27th 2018

Original Title: Ruckus (Sinner of Saint)

Synopsis:

Vor elf Jahren brach Dean Rosie das Herz. Doch fĂŒr eine zweite Chance ist es jetzt vielleicht zu spĂ€t …
Rosie LeBlanc war ein Teenager, als sie Dean Cole zum ersten Mal begegnete. Es war Liebe auf den ersten Blick. Doch Dean brach ihr Herz, als er sich nicht fĂŒr sie, sondern fĂŒr eine andere entschied. Nach elf Jahren stehen sich die beiden nun erneut gegenĂŒber. So viel hat sich verĂ€ndert zwischen ihnen, so viel ist geschehen.

Doch ein Blick in Deans Augen genĂŒgt, und die Sehnsucht und das Verlangen sind wieder da, viel stĂ€rker noch als damals. Dean ist fest entschlossen, Rosie davon zu ĂŒberzeugen, dass er seinen Fehler bereut und dass sie zu ihm gehört – fĂŒr immer. Was er nicht weiß: Rosie ist krank. Sehr krank. Und fĂŒr eine zweite Chance könnte es schon zu spĂ€t sein …

Mini Review:

Nachdem ich Vicious Love gelesen habe, konnte ich es kaum abwarten den zweiten Teil in die Finger zu bekommen. Ich fand Vicious schon toll, wenn auch manchmal nicht ganz nachvollziehbar. Doch Dean Cole hat mein Herz im Sturm erobert. Der Sunny Boy mit der dunklen Seite und der geheimnisvollen Vergangenheit, der sein Herz an ein todkrankes MĂ€dchen verschenkt? Worauf habe ich die ganze Zeit gewartet? Genau das! Aber ich sollte erstmal ĂŒber Rosie reden, Emilias Schwester aus dem ersten Band, die dort leider nur eine Nebenrolle eingenommen hatte. Sie ist meiner Meinung nach der wahre Star der Serie bisher! Es war so leicht sich hineinzuversetzen und so verstĂ€ndlich, sie zu bewundern.

Ihren Kampf mit der Liebe und der Mukoviszidose zu beobachten hat mein Herz zeitweise zu hoch schlagen und manchmal aussetzen lassen. Absolut gelungene Hauptcharaktere und eine tolle, ĂŒberraschende Geschichte. Außerdem verspreche ich euch tolle ironische und freche Dialoge, wie ich sie selten in BĂŒchern finde. Die meiste Zeit dachte ich, ich wĂŒsste wie das Buch ausgeht und wie sich alles entwickeln wĂŒrde. Lasst mich euch sagen: egal was ihr wĂ€hrend des Lesens denkt: Ihr liegt falsch. Am Ende habe ich mit den TrĂ€nen gekĂ€mpft und die letzten Seiten so schnell ĂŒberflogen, damit ich erfahre ob ich mein Happy End bekomme oder nicht. Aber auch das verrate ich euch nicht 😉

Schon nach Beginn von Twisted Love hat mich die Reihe an eine meiner Lieblingsbuchreihen erinnert (Die Edinburgh Reihe von Samantha Young), nur viel dĂŒsterer und unberechenbarer! Ich liebe es wenn Autoren ĂŒber mehrere BĂŒcher hinweg Freundschaften und Schicksale der Charaktere miteinander verknĂŒpfen und kann es schon jetzt kaum abwarten, den nĂ€chsten Band in den HĂ€nden zu halten! Was wird uns wohl als nĂ€chstes ĂŒberraschen?

Auf jeden Fall habe ich so eine Reihe wie diese schon lange nicht mehr in den HĂ€nden gehalten. Es ist spannend, ĂŒberraschend, dĂŒster und traurig und exakt so, wie ich meine BĂŒcher mag! Absolute Leseempfehlung â™„♄

(20. August 2018)


Our Kind of Cruelty

by Amarinta Hall

our kind of cruelty

Rating: â™„♄♄

Pages: 288

Publisher:Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Publishing Date: May 8th 2018

Synopsis:

Mike Hayes fought his way out of a brutal childhood and into a quiet, if lonely life, before he met Verity Metcalf. V taught him about love, and in return, Mike has dedicated his life to making her happy. He’s found the perfect home, the perfect job, he’s sculpted himself into the physical ideal V has always wanted. He knows they’ll be blissfully happy together.

It doesn’t matter that she hasn’t been returning his emails or phone calls.

It doesn’t matter that she says she’s marrying Angus. It’s all just part of the secret game they used to play. If Mike watches V closely, he’ll see the signs. If he keeps track of her every move he’ll know just when to come to her rescue
 A spellbinding, darkly twisted novel about desire and obsession, and the complicated lines between truth and perception, Our Kind of Cruelty introduces Amarinta Hall, a chilling new voice in psychological suspense.

Mini Review:

This book was a mostly difficult read for me, Because it was just so psychologically wrong. It was like watching a car accident while you are fixed on something and can’t do anything to change the outcome. In one word it was – horrible – and therefore maybe amazing? I haven’t read anything like that before and it was a great idea to write a book in the view of someone as mentally confused as Mike is. 

I never thought him the victim to be honest and it was so hard in the end to not scream at the book about the wrongness its existence was in itself – but I kept reading and the end destroyed me in my feminist roots. Don’t get me wrong! I really liked the book, but it made me so angry about the unfairness in our world and society system. I guess thats exactly what the author intended to do to me.

You’ll always see everything in Mikes point of view, which means you will be hopelessly in love with V. Even though V is marrying Angus and always tells Mike to stop contacting her. Even though she clearly does not want you to rescue her from her relationship – or is it only the game they played again? The Crave? Being stuck in Mikes head, when he relives the last month with and without verity, after he was released from prison, will lure you into a dark dark world, where you won’t even be able to tell, what is true and what is not. 

The book was well written and super exciting. Because in one way you thought over the first pages, that you knew what will happen, but you were completely wrong. Also the POV Mike made it hard to realize what really happened, and what only he thought had happened. It confused me in so many ways, that I have to admit the idea for the book was a masterpiece.

And here comes the big BUT

I expected more bloodshed, more violence, more hate. More of everything. The story got a bit boring at times and I could only always think „please don’t let that happen to V!“. *spoiler warning* – I expected a stalker to be more violent to be honest. The author always describes how maskuline and strong Mike is. And that he is a psycho in his own way.

But why would he always be so calm and whiney? I don’t know, but I really really disliked being in this persons head! When I look back at reading the book and my behavior, I can tell it was a love/ hate. I wanted to know the outcome but it was a little too slow pacing to be super exciting for me.

( August 14th 2018)


Blood Will Out

by Jo Treggiari

blood will out

Rating: â™„♄♄

Pages: 256

Publisher: Penguin Teen

Publishing Date: June 5th 2018

Synopsis:

Ari Sullivan is alive—for now.

She wakes at the bottom of a cistern, confused, injured and alone, with only the shadowy recollection of a low-pitched voice and a gloved hand. No one can hear her screams. And the person who put her there is coming back. The killer is planning a gruesome masterpiece, a fairytale tableau of innocence and blood, meticulously designed. 

Until now, Ari was happy to spend her days pining for handsome, recent-arrival Stroud Bellows, fantasizing about their two-point-four-kids-future together. Safe in her small hometown of Dempsey Hollow. But now her community has turned very dangerous—and Ari may not be the only intended victim.

Mini Review:

Okay, so after finishing this book I had to take a little break to properly think about the twists and turns in it. Afterward I searched for other peoples opinions and was shocked by the bad response and misunderstanding of this book. Ill give you the synopsis again, so you can see, that we really were prepared for that book to be a handful to handle:

„She wakes at the bottom of a cistern, confused, injured and alone, with only the shadowy recollection of a low-pitched voice and a gloved hand. No one can hear her screams. And the person who put her there is coming back. The killer is planning a gruesome masterpiece, a fairytale tableau of innocence and blood, meticulously designed. Until now, Ari was happy to spend her days pining for handsome, recent-arrival Stroud Bellows, fantasizing about their two-point-four-kids-future together. Safe in her small hometown of Dempsey Hollow. But now her community has turned very dangerous—and Ari may not be the only intended victim.“

In my opinion it was a great Psychothriller and I had no idea who was the murderer until the very end. And thats what a good thriller is about for me. The research was on point and the author wove some of the most important signs and tips together in the story, and still I had no idea what happened to me and Ari. (Thats a strange one for me, because my name is „Ari“ too, maybe the experience was more fearful for me because of that 😀 ) 

We are thrown into the story and only know what Ari experiences and what the murderer knows, without any idea who it could be. The story is gruesome and bloody, exciting and super surprising in my point of view! The writing was fluent (and as many reviewers haven’t realized here, ranting about the format and grammar is, that this was still an uncorrected proof and therefore wasn’t ready for grammatical judgement ;)) 

I loved, how the book was more about friendship than love, and that the reader was so often missleaded. You believe deeply in what Ari believes, even if she is completely wrong. Also there is a homosexual main character and thats always a pro!

BUT there are also some problematic parts, which haven’t bothered me as much (because yes one of the POVs was a psychotic mass murderer and what do we expect from those?), but was a breaking point for a lot of other readers:

TRIGGER WARNING FOR ANIMAL ABUSE

(I don’t want to tell you more about that specific topic, because if you hate hurt animal in books, please just don’t read this book.) For everyone else: A lot of mass murderers began with murdering and torturing animals so in my opinion it was just a research fact the author used for the benefit of the story. All in all I enjoyed reading this book a lot!

( August 13th 2018)


Cat and Cole / This Mortal Coil

by Emily Suvada

Rating: â™„♄♄♄♄

Pages: 480

Publisher: Planet / Penguin

Publishing Date: June 19th 2018 / First: November 7th 2017

Synopsis:

1 Milliarde Leben am Abgrund. 2 Menschen, die sie retten können. 1 Geheimnis, versteckt in ihrer DNA.
Krankheiten, Schönheitsmakel, körperliche EinschrĂ€nkungen: von der Erde gelöscht! Mensch und Technik sind verschmolzen, jeder trĂ€gt ein Panel in sich, das den eigenen Körper perfektioniert. Fast! Eine mörderische Seuche ist ausgebrochen, und nur eine einzige Person auf der Welt ist fĂ€hig, den Impfstoff zu entschlĂŒsseln – Catarina Agatta.
Gemeinsam mit Cole, dessen Körper gentechnisch verÀndert wurde, kommt die geniale Hackerin Cat einer Wahrheit nÀher, die grausamer ist als jedes tödliche Virus!

Mini Review: 

Zuallererst muss ich sagen, dass das Buch sehr viel komplexer und ĂŒberraschender war, als ich es zu Beginn erwartet hĂ€tte.
Die Geschichte, die sich um Catarina und ihren Vater dreht, die verzweifelt versuchen einen Impfstoff gegen das Hydra Virus zu finden, dass ich auf der ganzen Welt verbreitet hat, und dabei immer wieder auseinandergerissen werden, hat fĂŒr mich einige Überraschungen und „Oh mein Gott“- Momente bereit gehalten.

Zu Beginn hatte ich echte Probleme mich in die Geschichte einzufinden. Der Anfang des Buches war etwas seltsam und man wusste nicht Recht, was einen erwartet. Zudem war mir erst nicht klar, dass dies die Übersetzung des englischen Bestsellers „This Mortal Coil“ ist. Nach einem zweiten Versuch habe ich das Buch jedoch verschlungen. Wenn man einmal in die Geschichte hineingesogen wurde, kommt man so schnell nicht mehr heraus. Ich kam bei all den fantastisch beschriebenen und versteckten Überraschung und Wendungen kaum noch aus dem Staunen raus und konnte es nicht abwarten endlich zu wissen, wie die Geschichte fĂŒr Cat und Cole ausgeht.

Lasst euch gewarnt sein, nichts wird so sein wie ihr es erwartet habt und auch die Charaktere werden euch so einige Mal ĂŒberraschen und sprachlos zurĂŒck lassen.
Kommen wir zuerst einmal zu Cat. Es war unglaublich aufregend ĂŒber diese mutige und selbststĂ€ndige Hackern zu lesen. Das ist etwas, was in BĂŒchern immer mehr im Kommen ist, jedoch nie langweilig wird: eine absolut starke und unabhĂ€ngige Protagonistin, die die Welt retten will. Vielleicht weil wir alle trĂ€umen so wie sie zu sein? Der Charakter war so komplex geschrieben und allein. Die RealitĂ€t, dass man bei einem Ich-erzĂ€hle nie weiß, was nun wahr ist und was nicht, hat das Buch besonders spannend gemacht.

Und dann wĂ€re da noch Cyborg – Cole , die „Waffe“. Gott war ich verliebt in diesen starken, auf ihren Schutz programmierten Typen! Alles in allem war Leoben vermutlich mein Lieblingscharakter, aber davon solltet ihr euch selbst ĂŒberzeugen. Niemand kann behaupten, dass die Charaktere in diesem Buch nicht absolut authentisch und einzigartig sind!

Ebenso wie die Geschichte an sich. Gespickt mit so vielen zusĂ€tzlichen Informationen und ErklĂ€rungen zu der fortschrittlichen Technologie, ist dieses Buch ein echtes Meisterwerk. Jeder Eingriff und jede verwendete Technik wird bis aufs Kleinste erklĂ€rt und lĂ€sst keine VerstĂ€ndnis-WĂŒnsche offen. Emily Suvada hat eine Welt geschaffen vor der man sich nur fĂŒrchten kann, die jedoch in der heutigen Zeit kaum noch reine Fiction sondern eher eine dystopische Zukunft sein könnte. 

Meiner Meinung nach ist dies ein absolutes Science Fiction SchmuckstĂŒck und ich kann es kaum abwarten den zweite Teil in meine Finger zu bekommen! (Allerdings fand ich das englische Coverdesign ehrlich gesagt etwas cooler, weil es gefĂ€hrlicher und weniger nach Jugendbuch aussah 😉 )

(09. August 2018)


The Leading Edge of Now

by Marci Lyn Curtis

Rating: â™„♄♄♄♄

Pages: 336

Publisher: Kids Can Press

Publishing Date: September 4th 2018

Synopsis: 

Just when Grace is beginning to get used to being an orphan, her estranged uncle suddenly comes forward to claim her. That might have been okay if he’d spoken to her even once since her father died. Or if moving in with Uncle Rusty didn’t mean returning to New Harbor.

Grace once spent the best summers of her life in New Harbor. Now the place just reminds her of all she’s lost: her best friend, her boyfriend and any memory of the night that changed her forever.

People say the truth will set you free, but Grace isn’t sure about that. Once she starts looking for it, the truth about that night is hard to find — and what happens when her healing hurts the people she cares about the most?

Mini Review: 

Usually I plan my reviews, but I had to write this one while the reading experience was still fresh. This book surprised me to no end. It maybe was one of the best books I’ve ever read. Not because of the special effects but because of its authenticity.

The book starts right in between the chaos and keeps being exciting and wonderful until the last page. Discovering Graces history together with her was heartbreakingly painful and pushed me to tears. I was angry, sad and relieved while reading it and all of it, every single line, felt SO REAL. I will not talk about it further, but the special topic of rape and sexual assault is very important to myself and I nearly never read something that reflected all the feelings and fears as good as Ms. Curtis did. 

I loved the Character for all their trades and flaws and the character development was more than surprising. The whole plot kept me speechless with its surprises! I hated characters and seconds apart I cried for them! The whole development of the story was unexpected, heartwrenching and in a weird way beautiful, because I could feel the healing alongside Grace. How she managed to fix everyone and everything in her life, herself included, discover her horrible past and get new friends while doing so, was so great to read about.

I recommend this book to every contemporary lover, but also people with sexual aussault in their past or a friends. It was a great read and it still hurts after finishing it.

(08. August 2018) 


Brave enough

by Kati Gardner

Rating: â™„♄♄♄♄

Pages: 260

Publisher: Flux

Publishing Date: August 21st 2018

Synopsis: 

Teenager Cason Martin is the youngest ballerina in the Atlanta Ballet Conservatory. She never really had a choice of whether she learned to dance or not. Her mother, the conservatory’s artistic director, has made all the decisions in Cason’s life. But that’s about to change. Cason has been hiding an injury, and it’s much worse than anyone imagines.

Davis Channing understands all too well what it’s like to give up control of your life. He’s survived cancer, but his drug addiction nearly killed him. Now he’s been sober for seven months and enjoying his community service at the hospital. But just when he thinks he’s got it together, Davis’s ex-girlfriend, who is still battling her addiction, barrels back into his life. Cason and Davis are not friends. But, as their worlds collide, they will start to depend on one another. Can they both be brave enough to beat the odds?”

Mini – Review:

First of all I have to thank the author of this book who was „brave enough“ to talk about such a difficult and moving topic! While reading I just knew that the author must have had a personal encounter with cancer and reading the acknowledgement made me close my eyes in honor!

The story of Cason and Davis around having cancer, following your dream, being an addict AND righting your wrongs was so wonderfully written, I adored it until the last page. I cried and laughed with the characters and it made me think a lot about how we often don’t appreciate the life we have as it is. The strong and fearless Cason left me speechless, her character was so round about good and relatable it broke my heart in pieces when her life and her dreams shattered. And then there was her mother which I hated so much in the beginning, but Kati Gardner wrote such a good Character development that I fell in love with her later.

Sometimes things have to get broken to built the up again. That’s what describes Cason’s mum the best in my opinion. And then there was my strong, golden boy Davis. Gardner created a character, that was so good and yet so torn apart that it made me die thousand little death and I wanted to scream at the book, to throttle him sometimes, but I loved him anyway. 

I don’t want to tell you too much about the story itself, only that Davis and his friends made me grow and feel alongside Cason and in the end I understood a lot better. I guess that a healthy person won’t ever really understand the depth of this book, but I can tell how much heartbleed and pieces of herself Gardner must have put into the lines and it made me cry sometimes. Because this book is not only a book. It’s reality for thousandth of people out there. Life is never gentle or fair, but this story showed me, that even in catastrophes there is light and you can find something for the future in the loss of the past and present.

The story was roundabout wonderfully written, heartwarming and – wrenching and I would recommend it to every lover of contemporary, stories about friendship and love and especially for all those kids out there who are brave enough to fight against the beast called cancer.

( 08. August 2018)


Vicious Love

by L. J. Shen

Rating: ♄♄♄♄

Pages: 449

Publisher: LYX

Synopsis:

Emilia LeBlanc traut ihren Augen nicht, als sie nach zehn Jahren zum ersten Mal wieder Baron “Vicious” Spencer gegenĂŒbersteht. Vicious, der ihr das Leben einst zur Hölle gemacht hat.

Vicious, der nie nett, immer furchtbar zu ihr war. Vicious, der sie ans andere Ende der USA und weg von ihrer Familie getrieben hat. Vicious, der einzige Mann, den sie je geliebt hat.
Inzwischen ist er ein erfolgreicher Anwalt und leitet mit seinen drei besten Freunden ein Multi-Milliarden-Dollar-Unternehmen.

Emilia, die es kaum schafft, sich und ihre kranke Schwester ĂŒber die Runden zu bringen, weiß, dass Vicious der letzte Mann ist, den sie jetzt in ihrem Leben gebrauchen kann. Und doch kann sie sich wie damals schon einfach nicht von ihm fernhalten …

Mini – Review:

Was kann ich sagen? Das Buch hat mich wirklich ĂŒberrascht. Zuerst habe ich einen leicht holprigen Schreibstil, eine devote schĂŒchterne Jungfrau und einen arroganten Baron erwartet – und wurde vom absoluten Gegenteil freudig ĂŒberrascht!

Die Geschichte die in zwei unterschiedlichen Zeiten spielt und von Vicious und Emilia gleichzeitig erzĂ€hlt wird ist abwechslungsreich, spannend und ich musste mehr als ein Mal laut auflachen beim Lesen. Zwei Menschen die sich seit der Highschool hassen und spĂ€ter aus den unterschiedlichsten GrĂŒnden aufeinander angewiesen sind? Das kann nur spannend sein! Kranke Schwestern, verrĂŒckte Klamotten und wutschnaubende Exfreunde? Genau mein Ding. Um es kurz zu sagen: das Buch war fantastisch und hat mich in seinen Bann gezogen. Ich bin verliebt in die dunkle Welt der beiden Protagonisten und die Art wie der Roman geschrieben wurde.

Emilia ist schlau, frech und absolut schlagfertig. Sie entspricht keinem Klischee haften Schönheitsideal und ich habe sie sofort ins Herz geschlossen, da sie ein sehr authentischer Charakter ist. Mit Vicious war es da schon schwieriger, aber nicht weniger ĂŒberzeugend! Er ist knallhart und doch verletzlich, wunderschön aber nicht perfekt und wer die typische ( und vielleicht langsam langweilig werdende) Rollenverteilung und Katz und Maus Spiele erwartet – wird hier enttĂ€uscht! Das Buch ist witzig und frech geschrieben, doch auch TrĂ€nen und AngstzustĂ€nde um die Charaktere kommen nicht zu kurz. Von mir eine absolute Leseempfehlung und ich kann es nicht abwarten, den zweiten Band zu lesen!

(06. August 2018)


The Evaporation of Sofi Snow

by Mary Weber

Rating: ♄♄♄

Pages: 352

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

Synopsis: 

Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth’s Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport.

But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi’s the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she’s convinced he’s been taken to the ice-planet.
Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.
For Miguel, Earth’s charming young playboy, the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight’s bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he’s a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford.

Mini – Review: 

Reading this novel felt a little like reading a mixture of „Warcross“, „Panem“ and Illuminae and it caught me by surprise! Sofi and Shilo snow are participating in the friendly games between the 30 corps of the world after World War V (where an Alien Gang called Delonese „helped“ to build up the world piece again) and their little world is destroyed by a bomb attack where Sofis brother goes missing. With the help of her Hacker friends she tries to rescue her brother and reveal her past. Digging deeper and deeper Sofi evaporates into a world of lies, secrets and pain.

The world building was unexpected but extremely good and I loved the game and science fiction vibes a lot! The book triggers one of the biggest fears humankind has in an elaborate way. Aliens looking like us and controlling the peace contract with their advanced technology? Creepy!! The main character Sofi was strong headed, intelligent and one of the best in her field, what I really appreciate in books. Female characters in the leading roles are something we need more of! 

Additional to the clearly feminist vibes of the author I absolutely adored the diverse cast. Brown skin and power curls? Hispanic heritage with rainbow colored hair? I am in!! Though my favorite character was Miguel, cause he was one of the biggest surprises for me in the book and I liked the authentic clash of language the author used when writing in his perspective! All in all the book had a big cliff hanger and now I can’t even wait for the second book, cause the ending left me speechless and in disbelief.

If you are a sucker for gaming, hackers and aliens this is just the right science fiction book for you! Though there are two things I disliked a bit. Sometimes the story for a bit flat and you could foresee what would happen next. Also some secrets where the characters made a big fuss about weren’t soooo shocking. But in general it was a great story with beautiful character development and an exciting story line! (I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through Netgalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.)

(07. August 2018)


Circe 

by Madeline Miller 

Rating: â™„♄♄♄♄

Pages: 336

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Synopsis: 

In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. But Circe is a strange child—not powerful, like her father, nor viciously alluring like her mother. Turning to the world of mortals for companionship, she discovers that she does possess power—the power of witchcraft, which can transform rivals into monsters and menace the gods themselves.

Threatened, Zeus banishes her to a deserted island, where she hones her occult craft, tames wild beasts and crosses paths with many of the most famous figures in all of mythology, including the Minotaur, Daedalus and his doomed son Icarus, the murderous Medea, and, of course, wily Odysseus.

But there is danger, too, for a woman who stands alone, and Circe unwittingly draws the wrath of both men and gods, ultimately finding herself pitted against one of the most terrifying and vengeful of the Olympians. To protect what she loves most, Circe must summon all her strength and choose, once and for all, whether she belongs with the gods she is born from, or the mortals she has come to love.

Mini – Review: 

What can I say about this book?

It was beautifully written (what else have I expected), it made me want to climb into it and live with Circe on Aiaia as a witch, and I pleaded for a happy end like a maniac. As a big fan of „The Song of Achilles“, I expected to like this book, but it was a statement of Feminism and selflove, understanding and motherhood and I LOVED it.

We all were introduced to greek mythology in our life, one way or another. But never as devastatingly beautiful and enchanting like Madeline Miller does. All begins with the childhood of Circe, how everyone in her life betrayed and shaped her, an how she found her true self – in herself. I don’t want to tell you too much about the story, because you should let yourself get bewitched without my story telling 😉

But expect nymphs, thunderbolts, Odysseus and the Minotaur to be there – just as you will expect, or not? I thought I knew the story of Circe, of Odysseus and Daedalus, but Madeline Miller reshaped the storylines I knew and weaved them to a fantastical journey of witchdom and hate, love and betrayal, power and beauty and I loved what she did to it. Circe is one of the strongest and most wonderful characters I’ve ever met in a book and has the power to be a role model for all the girls and mothers on earth!

Also spoiler warning: You’ll get to see some glimpses of Achilles again 😉 I loved all the characters with their flaws and how self reflective and calm Circe was. Must read – modern writing with an ancient feeling – and one of the best books I’ve ever read. Count me in for the next book !!!

(04. August 2018)


Rough Animals                         

by Rae Delbianco  

Rating: â™„♄♄♄

Pages: 304

Publisher: Arcade

Synopsis: 

Ever since their father’s untimely death five years before, Wyatt Smith and his inseparably close twin sister, Lucy, have scraped by alone on their family’s isolated ranch in Box Elder County, Utah. That is until one morning when, just after spotting one of their bulls lying dead in the field, Wyatt is hit in the arm by a hail of gunfire that takes four more cattle with it.

The shooter: a fever-eyed, fearsome girl-child with an outdated TEC-9 in her left hand and a worn shotgun in her right. They hold the girl captive, but she breaks loose overnight and heads south into the desert. With the dawning realization that the loss of cattle will mean the certain loss of the ranch, Wyatt feels he has no choice but to go after her and somehow find restitution for what’s been lost.

Wyatt’s decision sets him on an epic twelve-day odyssey through a nightmarish underworld he only half understands; a world that pitches him not only against the primordial ways of men and the beautiful yet brutally unforgiving landscape, but also against himself.

As he winds his way down from the mountains of Box Elder to the mesas of Monument Valley and back, Wyatt is forced to look for the first time at who he is and what he’s capable of, and how those hard truths set him irrevocably apart from the one person he’s ever really known and loved. Gripping from the first gunshot to the last and steeped in a mythic, wildly alive language of its own, Rough Animals is a tour de force not to be missed.

Mini – Review:  ** spoiler alert **

Following Rae’s way for some time now, should maybe have prepared me what kind of a book she would write. The bloodshed and darkness was so authentic and delighted me to no end. And yes I know how that sounds. But delbiancos story about twins and their life’s, their troubles and crimes just gripped me from the beginning on. It has some serious creepy otherworldly vibes in the beginning and lures the reader into the story of Wyatt smith with a writing style that I’ve never detected before. It was real, descriptive and absolutely damn fabulous.

Reading this book I felt the sand and blood on my skin and the darkness creeping up on me. I’ve read some parts twice, just because the writing style is to be devoured like an old Whiskey. I was so thrilled of the plot while reading, I couldn’t put the book down for hours and the end is a big bomb! So be aware.

Really interesting we’re also all the philosophical thoughts included, about life and death, killing and being alive, friendship and family and all the dark and shades between. This book is not about the black and white in the civilation, but about the brown desert sand that lives in all men.
If you love the old American ways, the desert, stories about the drug underworld and old literature, this is your book to read. I definetly loved it.

(Thank you to netgalley and the author for this free review copy which getting for free is in no way affiliated to my opinion 🙂 )


%d bloggers like this: